On National Philanthropy Day (NPD) we celebrate the extraordinary change
that fundraising and philanthropy have helped to create in our world and our community!

Each year, the Cape Fear Region Chapter honors an Outstanding Philanthropist and Outstanding Fundraiser, who are recognized and celebrated at our local NPD event in November!

NPD is also our chapter’s annual fundraiser.  Funds raised provide continuing education, membership, and conference scholarships for chapter members, providing meaningful professional development opportunities that strengthen the nonprofits members serve.

Interested in helping with the 2024 NPD event? Serve on the NPD Committee!

We need your help with nominations, event planning, securing sponsorships, and publicity in order to make this event a success.

Contact afpcapefear@gmail.com to volunteer.

 Together, we celebrate the extraordinary change that fundraising and philanthropy have helped to create in our world!

What is National Philanthropy Day?

Philanthropy is “the love of humankind,” and National Philanthropy Day® (NPD)—November 15—is the day that thousands of people around the world come together to both put that word into action and recognize the change that word has brought to our communities.

NPD celebrates giving, volunteering and charitable engagement and highlights the accomplishments that philanthropy makes to our society and our world.

National Philanthropy Day® is both an official day and a grassroots movement. Every year, since 1986 when President Ronald Reagan first proclaimed November 15th as National Philanthropy Day®, communities across the globe have celebrated by hosting events to recognize activities of donors, volunteers, foundations, leaders, corporations, and others engaged in philanthropy.

Past National Philanthropy Day Honorees
2023 Ken Dull
2020  Linda Wilson
2019  Ann Campbell-Morin
2018  Joe and Whitney Finley
2017  Judy Girard
2016 Bobby Harrelson
2015  Ricky and Diane Benton
2014  Peter Hexter
2013  John Monteith
2012 Reid and Linda Murchison
2011 Tim Milam
2010  Louise Coggins and Dickson Baldridge (TIE)
2009  Linda and Vance Ferrigno
2023 Katie Tate, Lower Cape Fear LifeCare
2022 “TrailBlazer Award” Kitty Yerkes, Cape Fear Museum
2020  Bob Hartsook, Hartsook
2019  Logan Thompson, Welcome Home Angel
2018  JC Lyle, WARM
2017  Mary Bradley, WHQR
2016  Jane Birnbach, CFRE, Good Shepherd Center
2015  Bob Jones, CFCC
2014  Vicki Dull, Harrelson Center
2013 Kitty Yerkes, Habitat For Humanity
2012 Melissa Reabold, UWCFA
2011 Diane Lomax, Domestic Violence Shelter
2010  Reed Wallace, Wilmington Symphony
2009  Laurie Taylor, CFRE, Lower Cape Fear Hospice
2020  Women’s Impact Network (WIN)
2019  Heath and Sons Management, LLC
2018  Food Lion
2017  Wells Fargo
2016  Live Oak Bank
2015  Junior League of Wilmington, NC
2014  Home Depot Foundation
2013 First Federal Bank
2012 State Employees Credit Union
2011 Wilmington Civitan Chapter
2010 Corning, Inc.
2009 PPD
2020  Rob Kaiser
2019  Alan Perry
2018  Meg Caswell & Liz Carroll
2017  Linda Wilson
2016  Laura Jones
2015  Sandy Spiers
2014 Betsy Leonard
2013 Denise Szaloky
2012 Coach Ronald Watson
2011 Murrie and Teresa Lee
2010  Bo Dean
2009  Beth Pancoe
2020  Emma Martin
2019  Amiya and Amari Libingi
2018  Vincent Walsh
2017  Katie Evans
2016  No Nominations
2015  Robert Penna-Welch
2014 Drake Harper, Brunswick Community College
2013 Hoggard High School Art Club – Katy Hufham
2012 Michael Castoro, Topsail High Performing Arts
2011 No Nominations
2010 UNCW Chapter of Pi Sigma Epsilon
2020  NourishNC
2019  Cape Fear Literacy Council
2018  Lakeside Partners
2017  Phoenix Hometown Hires
2016  Brunswick Community College Foundation
2015  Cape Fear Community College Foundation
2014 No Nominations
2013 Airlie Gardens Foundation
2012 The Carousel Center Child Advocacy Center

2020 National Philanthropy Day Awards

Volunteer Fundraiser Nominees

Rob Kaiser

Betty Lanier

And the winner is…

Student in Philanthropy Nominee

Emma Martin

And the winner is…

Fundraising Board of Directors Nominees

Good Shepherd Center


United Way of the Cape Fear Area

and the winner is…

Philanthropist of the Year Nominees

Dinah Gore

Linda Wilson

Congratulations to…

Philanthropic Organization Nominees

Bank of America

Landfall Foundation

Lighthouse Beer & Wine

nCino, Inc.

The Help Hub, at The Harrelson Center

United Way of the Cape Fear Area

Women’s Impact Network of New Hanover County

and the winner is…

Fundraising Executive Nominees

Bob Hartsook

Jim Karl

Congratulations to …

How the 2020 Honorees were Chosen
We are grateful for the following individuals, who took the time to evaluate the 2020 National Philanthropy Day Award nominations. Using a metrics based system, deciding on this year’s honorees.  Be sure to watch for our posts of Facebook the week of November 9-15 for the announcement of those being honored.

2020 Judges Panel

Jennifer Adams, Corning Inc.
Jeffrey L. Brudney, Ph.D., University of North Carolina Wilmington
Marty Fukuda, N2 Publishing
Jennifer Gallo, Smart  Start of New Hanover County
Judy Girard, GLOW Academy
Dan Heist, University of North Carolina Wilmington
LaDonna Hopkins, H & H Consulting
Jennie Jackson, Bank of America
Tracy Meadows, Independent Accountant/Consultant; QENO Coach
Dr. Jeanine M. Mingé, University of North Carolina Wilmington
Art Ordoqui, Salesforce
Becky Slemons, American Cancer Society
Anne Sorhagen, North Carolina Community Foundation